Quantcast

where to ride in america

ukjason

sexist pig
May 14, 2006
leicester uk
ok so im new to this and i apologize if this topic is in the wrong section.

anyway next year me and a couple of mates are coming to the states for a month and we are planning to go from colorado to north carolina and doing some riding but as i've never been there before i was wondering if you could suggest some riding spots, also could you give me some advice on where im aloud to ride regarding the law because in this country we are only aloud to ride on bridleways and the cops in our contry dont have guns so i dont realy want to start pissing your cops off.

cheers

jason

PatBranch

Turbo Monkey
Sep 24, 2004
wine country
There's an overwhelming amount of riding in this country...

Where in the US are you going, and what kind of riding are you looking for?

maxyedor

<b>TOOL PRO</b>
Oct 20, 2005
In the bathroom, fighting a battle
Colorado has insane riding all over the place, but Steamboat Springs and Golden are my favorites. As for other spots to ride, howbout Moab? It is overhyped but still unlike anything you will ever run into in England or Europe/ Asia/ India/ Africa, ect. But you may want to post in the regional forums, they will be better able to tell you what trails are good and when to ride them.

MikeD

Leader and Demogogue of the Ridemonkey Satinists
Oct 26, 2001
chez moi
Start in Las Vegas; ride Bootleg Canyon. Head to Utah, 2 hours away, and ride the Virgin/Zion Park area and Brian Head...PM me if you need a riding contact out there. This place is NOT to be missed. Best US riding, ever, IMHO. Check out Moab, then hit Colorado. Fruita is a CO destination; Durango has great riding, so does Crested Butte...I'm sure the CO monkeys can tell you more about what's there.

If you're driving across the country, if you're headed on the northern route, I've heard Michigan and Minnesota have some decent trails...if you're staying southern, I've been told Austin, TX is fun.