Quantcast

Where to ride on NY vacation?

irishblue76

Monkey
Jul 21, 2008
Massachusetts
Hello NY Monkies!

I will be in Windham, NY this summer & am looking to plan a vacation to Niagara Falls around that trip. So, we are wondering if there are any places that would be along the route that we would want to ride.

So, NY Monkies, do you have any suggestions of spots that we would absolutely need to ride if we are out that way?

Thanks!!!

irishblue76

Monkey
Jul 21, 2008
Massachusetts
I am definately more into DH than regular XC. I was thinking about Plattekill, but I'm not sure that's the best option... there's a couple of concerns:

I'm not very experienced at Bike-park riding so I'm not very confident that my skills are quite there yet. My more experienced friends keep telling me I need to go to Highland with them, but I think they are more confident in my skills than I am.

Also, It looks like the lifts at Plattekill are only open on Saturday & Sunday. We would almost definately be riding later in the week. So, is Plattekill still worth it without lift-access?

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
depends on the week. certain holidays they'll tag on a few days to their calender. i think last year they were open the entire week leading up to the world cup.

and don't let the fact that its a "bike park" deter you. there's trails there for all ability levels.

irishblue76

Monkey
Jul 21, 2008
Massachusetts
Looks good. I think we may go there the day after the Warrior Dash... that way we'll have lift access. Otherwise we'll be there during the week...

Thanks!

Anywhere else that we may want to ride on the way home?

Last edited:

mudgirl

Molester of monkeys
Jun 8, 2007
Tied up in the basement