Quantcast

which 24

Sunsets

Chimp
Aug 30, 2009
VA
alright, i swear this is my last question on bike desicion, im new to the world of bigger bikes and am super indecisive!

Fit 24 or Giant 24 is what ive narrowed it down to and am pretty sure my LBS can get both.

cant find specs for fit frame, but the geometry seems similar on both.

to anyone who may have experience with these bikes, which is more flickable and more of a 20" feel??

thanks guys!!

cmc

Turbo Monkey
Nov 17, 2006
austin
Did GIANT really put 33/12 gearing on the METHOD 24" (or is that just a website error)?

On a 20" that's fine. But with 24" wheels, you get 66 gear inches.

A stock bmx bike should be shooting for 54-57 gear inches.

33/14
30/13
28 /12
27/12

>
http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-ca/bikes/bmx/
SIZES 24" Wheel
COLORS Tan/ Bronze
FRAME Tapered 4130 CroMo w/ CNC-machined headtube
FORK Tapered 4130 CroMo w/ CNC-machined 1-piece steerer
SHOCK N/A

HANDLEBAR CroMo 5" rise
STEM Front Load Alloy, 1-1/8"
SEATPOST Steel micro adjust, 25.4mm
SADDLE Giant-embossed Ultralight, 8mm rails
PEDALS Giant alloy platform

SHIFTERS N/A
FRONT DERAILLEUR N/A
REAR DERAILLEUR N/A
BRAKES Tektro 907A U-Brake
BRAKE LEVERS Tektro alloy

CASSETTE 12T
CHAIN KMC Z510
CRANKSET 3-piece tubular CroMo, 33T alloy
BOTTOM BRACKET Spanish sealed

RIMS Alienation Black Sheep, 36H
HUBS F:alloy, 36H, 3/8" axle / R:alloy, loose ball cassette, 36H, 14mm axle
SPOKES BED stainless steel
TIRES F:Kenda Small Block 8, 24x2.1" / R:Kenda Small Block 8, 24x1.95"
EXTRAS

FIT appears to have screwed up too. 30/14 == 51.4 gear inches

https://www.jrbicycles.com/storefront/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=2265

RIDING STYLE: Street, Park and Trails

FRAME: 4130 Chromoly tubing and Integrated head tube
FORK: 4130 Chromoly tubing with 10mm dropouts and CNC machined top cap
HANDLEBARS: 4130 Chromoly 2pc cruiser bars
GRIPS: FIT Original grip with plastic barends
STEM: NEW CNC Machined D.I. in Black
HEADSET: FSA Impact sealed bearing