Quantcast

winME color options help

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology' started by Spudzie, Nov 15, 2005.

  1. Spudzie

    Spudzie Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    422
    Location:
    Hebron, ohio
    i had to replace my hard drive and i reinstalled winME and now all i have is 16 bit color.

    I went to the control panel to change the color setting and all i have is a 16 bit setting there is no 256 color setting

    am i missing an upgrade or did i load something wrong????

    thanks for your help
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. Tenchiro

    Tenchiro Attention K Mart Shoppers

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    5,407
    Location:
    New England
    You need to install the right video drivers, you only have the standard VGA drivers in there now.
     
  3. binary visions

    binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep/Likes:
    83 / 361
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,640
    Location:
    NC
    You must mean that all you have is "16 color", not 16 bit color, right?. 16 bit color is more than 256 colors.

    What you need is drivers for your video card. If you bought the video card seperately, you will have a drivers CD. If it came with your computer and you know the manufacturer and model, you can go to the manufacturer's website and download them.

    If you don't know what card you have, go to your computer manufacturer's website (Dell, for instance), and look up their driver's section - there should be a list of all the hardware and associated drivers that came with your computer. At the very least, the computer manufacturer's website should list what kind of video card came with your computer and you can locate the drivers on the video card manufacturer's site.

    Good luck!

    edit: Tench beat me, but my answer was more complete ;)
     
  4. Pau11y

    Pau11y Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    8 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,969
    Location:
    In a web in the corner of your room
    I'd recommend you nuke ME and put XP on. But that's just me.
     
  5. jimmydean

    jimmydean The Official Meat of Ridemonkey

    Rep/Likes:
    174 / 1,528
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    29,056
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    :stupid:

    If you don't have XP, Windows 98 is better than ME, or at least it has been in my experience.
     
  6. Tenchiro

    Tenchiro Attention K Mart Shoppers

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    5,407
    Location:
    New England
    I used ME for a bit and never had a problem with it. I think 98 does run with less overhead though.
     
  7. jimmydean

    jimmydean The Official Meat of Ridemonkey

    Rep/Likes:
    174 / 1,528
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    29,056
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    The only experience I had was when I "upgraded" my son's box to ME from 98. After the upgrade, it would lock up, blue screen, run dog slow all the time. I even tried to clean install with the same results. After about 6 months, I reverted back to 98SE and didn't have those issues anymore.

    Last year I converted it to a SuSE box and it runs like a charm.
     
  8. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    I would ditch ME for 2000 pro or XP pro, that will fix your problems :D
     
  9. binary visions

    binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep/Likes:
    83 / 361
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,640
    Location:
    NC
    Alright, guys, suggestion that he spend more money isn't helping, he's got his solution and when he posts, "WinME sucks, it crashes all the time, how can I fix it?" then you can lend your $0.02 on the matter ;)
     
  10. Ciaran

    Ciaran Fear my banana

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 8
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9,853
    Location:
    So Cal
    You're supposed to spend money for Windows? :confused:











    ;) :thumb: