Quantcast

XC Light Trail Tire du jour? Fast & Grippy 2.4 / 2.6 27mm Inner Rim 27.5"

Serial Midget

Al Bundy
Jun 25, 2002
Fort of Rio Grande
I blew out a Specialized Fast Track today and have decided to try something with a better balance of speed and grip for the hardtail XC bike.

My everyday rollers have an inner rim width of 27mm, I am considering Maxxis Rekon 3C/EXO/TR 2.4 front and rear.

My spare set have 19mm inner rim widths, I use this set for gravel / road during the winter. The last set of tires I had for them were Maxxis Ramblers. I didn't like them due to their low volume profile and horrible puncture resistance. I have very little experience with gravel tires and was thinking a decent set of durable semi-slicks would be fine. I have no idea where to start, but I would be going tubeless with stans and need enough volume to be firm at 35 to 40 psi.

I'm looking for feedback & suggestions - thanks in advance.

Westy

the teste
Nov 22, 2002
Sleazattle
Bontrager XR4, fairly grippy, not too heavy, pretty frickin' durable. Perhaps not an XC tire, but a damn good trail tire.

For an XC tire I had good luck with a Conti Cross King. Great rear tire, I like a more aggressive front tire because I do dumb shit in corners.

Last edited:

Serial Midget

Al Bundy
Jun 25, 2002
Fort of Rio Grande
Bontrager XR4, fairly grippy, not too heavy, pretty frickin' durable. Perhaps not an XC tire, but a damn good trail tire.

For an XC tire I had good luck with a Conti Cross King. Great rear tire, I like a more aggressive front tire because I do dumb shit in corners.
I just got rid of the Cross Kings that came on the Yeti, I only rode them once and remember nothing about them. Never heard of the XR4 before - will check them out.

Edit: Trek has been off my radar for sometime, back in the day Bontrager had peaked. Dissector / XR4 seems like something I might try.

Last edited:

jdcamb

Tool Time!
Feb 17, 2002
Nowhere Man!