Quantcast

2 questions: Steelman frames? Building a bike?

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
Whatcha guys know/think about Steelman? This frame looks like it might work for me. it's 56ST x 55TT x 16.5HT and I need ~57x55x18... depending upon angles and what not. I'm not looking for a perfect fit or I'd just go custom.

In addition to your opinions of the frame, etc... what do you think is a good price to bid?

If I stripped my current bike, with exceptions*, how many hours should I expect it to take considering I've never done this before?

* I'd get a new stem, BB, and cranks for this frame and have a shop install the BB and cranks.

TIA!

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
loco said:
Uhm - do you think that it is such a good idea???
apparently not.

Okay, I've done more looking, Steelman is most definitely good stuff... how much is the ebay offer worth?

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
Wumpus said:
Seems to be Reynolds middle of the road tubeset.
Would the main factor be weight or would better steel absorb more noise and provide a stiffer frame?

I'm pretty happy with my steel frame and think it's a lower grade (300series?).

I test rode both 853 and OX and was quite pleased. I

'm not concerned about weight.

Wumpus

makes avatars better
Dec 25, 2003
Six Shooter Junction
If you read the blurb on 853, it sounds like there is some difference in weld strength and strength to weight.

I've heard that you can't use 853 for the stays just the main triangle because it is too brittle(?).

Wumpus

makes avatars better
Dec 25, 2003
Six Shooter Junction
LordOpie said:
If I stripped my current bike, with exceptions*, how many hours should I expect it to take considering I've never done this before?

* I'd get a new stem, BB, and cranks for this frame and have a shop install the BB and cranks.

TIA!

Swapping the parts should take less than an hour. The time is really is really in the adjustments and cable running.