Quantcast

Advice for a visitor ...?

Mar 26, 2007
New Zealand
Hey everyone

I'm from NZ and have been riding since july last year ... so I'm a relative newbie ... I'm into cross country and freeriding .. not a fan of the uphills :-)

I'm doing a summer camp over in the states and I'm planning to come via Colorado to do some mountainbiking in my travel time. Any advice on trails or bikeparks to try out? I guess I'll probably want something where there would either be a few people around (for safety), or where they do guided tours that aren't too expensive as I'll be on my own.

I won't be bringing my bike (I'll miss her a lot!) so i'll need somewhere to hire from as well. Looks like my train stops in Denver as its main stop ... but I also have the choice of Fort Morgan, Winter Park, Granby, Glenwood Springs or Grand Junction for my colorado stops.

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
Winter Park has great xc riding and they rent bikes at the main resort.

good trail info and other resources -- http://trailcentral.com/

I think these guys do bike rentals -- http://greenmountainsports.com/ -- they're on the west edge of Denver, so some trails nearby, see trailcentral.

Glenwood Springs does have good mtbing, but your first time is more frustrating trying to find trails than pretty much anywhere else I've ever been, so I'd skip it. Try the hot springs instead :D

If you want to ride on the west side of Colorado at Grand Junction, search for "Fruita" threads in the lounge.

Have fun! Most more specific questions if you'd like.

CRoss

Turbo Monkey
Nov 20, 2006
The Ranch
For DH and freeride hit up Keystone and Vail. Plenty of places to rent bikes in the mountain villages.