Quantcast

Advice for Beginner

peatycap

Chimp
May 27, 2004
Maryland
Newbie here... ready to learn and get more involved in Mountain biking. This looked like the best place on the Net to start.

Basically, I am somewhat new to mountain biking. I don't want to jump into it head first (aka... spend a ton of money on a bike the first time). So I am looking for a few suggestions.

First off, I am 6'4" and 240 lbs... big boy. So I need a strong frame and I am thinking a 20 inch frame. Let me know if I am on the right track.

I have about $300 to spend. Oh no! I know that is not that much... but for a beginner, that will have to do. I can always upgrade or purchase something better later on if I get into it.

REI is having an anniversary sale this weekend and one bike stood out to me. The K2 Zed 2.0.

http://www.rei.com/online/store/ProductDisplay?productId=47675244&storeId=8000&catalogId=40000008000&langId=-1

I have also seen the Mongoose Tech 4 going for $350. Which would you go with????

A little over $300. Basically, I am looking for suggestions. Am I on the right track as far as a bike to purchase? Would this suit me well???

The fiancee is also looking into biking and we will probably just start her out at Sports Authority with a $150 - $200 50% off sale. I am hoping Memorial Day brings a couple sales for her. If you have any other suggestions besides SA, that would be cool too. She is about 5'6" and 125 lbs. 16" frame I am thinking???

Thank you in advance for any help. I look forward to reading and learning from your site. I participate on another forum and realize that guys come in guns ablazing... without stopping and learning first. No worries here!!! I have A LOT to learn!!!

:)

FlipSide

Turbo Monkey
Sep 24, 2001
That's not going to be an easy task to find a bike at this price that'll work for a long time without falling apart for a guy of you size.