Quantcast

AeroBars, Who uses them?

laura

DH_Laura
Jul 16, 2002
Glitter Gulch
And do you like them?

I have been riding road a lot lately (so expect quite a few repetitive newbie questions from me) and am having trouble getting comfortable in the drops on my bike. I am pretty comfortable in second position (thats what my spin instructor calls it) holding the tops of the bars close to the levers. These aerobars look comfortable for that position of riding. I have never tried them out before though and would hate to get them and have them be as uncomfortable as using the drop bars.

Anybody crazy about these bars. Have some recommendations on a nice, cheapish brand to try out? Thanks.

Ian F

Turbo Monkey
Sep 8, 2001
Philadelphia area
Drops do take some time to get used to, but for any sort of technical situation on the road, that's where you want to be. You have the most leverage and most control in the drops as well as the most braking power. If you're coming from mtn bikes, it takes some practice to break the habit of being on the tops (or flats) of the bars - which is really the last place you want to be.

I've thought of aero bars, and got a taste of them when I had Scott AT-4's on an old touring bike, but the problem with them is you have very little control with them. They are fine for going straight, but you need a great deal of practice to do even mild turns on them.

sanjuro

Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF
I use the drops about 1% of the time, either on a fast descent or a sprint. There is no stigma to being on the hoods, and you can still get a good tuck as well.

But if you are having huge problems, you could seek out a different bend. Many women prefer a shallow bend...

rooftest

Monkey
Jul 10, 2005
OC, CA
It took me about 1,000 miles to get used to the drops. When I first got the road bike, I couldn't use them at all. Now I've got no problem with them, but probably use them 10% of the time or less.

OGRipper

back alley ripper
Feb 3, 2004