Quantcast

Atomlab Hubs?

monkeyboy424

Turbo Monkey
Mar 19, 2002
Place
does any one know anythng about atomlab aircorp hubs? any one use them? will they blow up like their pedals do?

THanks

Ronny Grady

Monkey
Oct 20, 2003
I am no pro mechanic, but this is my rundown. I have run them with success on two bikes. They are ok, the bearings are easy to replace, and last a long time, (I only have had to replace one set of bearings on the rear hub once)

The rear hubs have very few engagement points compared to high end hubs, heck, less than shimano hubs.

Atomlab has Crappy customer service, and yes that is Crappy with a CAPITAL C!

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
Based on the beautiful customer service stories that have been told and re-told in this and other forums, I would avoid all Atom Lab products like the plague.

Is it really worth it if they decide to blow up in 3 weeks - even if they're usually reliable?

Mar 4, 2003
Somewhere in Alabama
I broke the axle on my aircorp hub about 14 months ago and I still haven't heard word from Atomlab. I'm not bashing Atomlab in any way; just telling you that their stuff has the tendency to break and that their company has the tendency to have below-par customer service.

dexterq20

Turbo Monkey
Mar 6, 2003
NorCal
The freehub on my rear Aircorp hub decided to completely seize after only about 3 months of use, and it took about 6 months to get a replacement from Atomlab. However, my Aircorp front hub has been problem-free and running smoothly for about a year now. I can say, however, that once my front hub dies, I will never own another piece of Atomlab equipment again. Their stuff is generally unreliable and their customer service is non-existent.

monkeyboy424

Turbo Monkey
Mar 19, 2002
Place
this makes me sad....