Quantcast

carbon fiber

chriskaiser

Monkey
Jul 26, 2004
Toronto
Yea I would think so... doesn't the trainer only cup around the QR bolt and tightener and squeeze?

That's what mine does.

I think that you'll be safe, put it in gently and look for where the points of contact are when you slowly start to tighten it.

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
dhriderII said:
anyone have any thing against getting a CF seatpost? im looking to get one and im slightly wondering if is any better then a metal one?
First, I have zero experience with CF, but have been reading a lot about it. One guy I chatted with said that he swapped his steel fork for CF and felt it wasn't worth it. Another said the same about his seatpost.

Wumpus

makes avatars better
Dec 25, 2003
Six Shooter Junction
dhriderII said:
anyone have any thing against getting a CF seatpost? im looking to get one and im slightly wondering if is any better then a metal one?

Since they are so smooth, slippage can be a problem esp depending on what type of seat clamp you have. Grease can makes them more slippery and may damage them though one manufacter(?) recommends greasing their post.

JMAC

Turbo Monkey
Feb 18, 2002
dhriderII said:
I've had a bit of slippage, but it's nice not having to have grease in there. They do ride smoother you just have to be carefull when you tighten the bolts, not to over do it that is. I like carbon forks to very nice and smooth. I'd go for a carbon post if I were you but don;t bother with them on your mountain bike.

Pau11y

Turbo Monkey