Quantcast

Changing my major

TheMontashu

Pourly Tatteued Jeu
Mar 15, 2004
I'm homeless
Right now I am majoring in mechanical engineering and minoring in political science. The problem I am having is I am super bored in math. I feel like I am entirely wasting my time, I am taking a calculus class right now and half way through the semester we are still revueing stuff that I learned in high school, and some of it in middle school. I am bored and feel like the math classes are a huge waste of time, on top of not having as much interest as I though I would with the higher level math (I kind of figured it would be higher level math not more review) I am really liking my political science classes and I feel like I'm actually learning and engaged as well as enjoying it. My big delema is that with an engineering degree I can get a job strait out of school making pretty damn good money. If I go with a poli sci degree just off of the BA I will have trouble getting a job and it will not pay as well. With a poli sci degree I would probably want to go to law school and go that route. In the end I could make a fair bit of money doing this but it will mean a ton more school and a whole bunch of debt to deal with. (the way it's going now I am going to finish up at the JC transfer to UC Berkeley and come out with a BA and little to no debt)

TN

Hey baby, want a hot dog?
Jul 9, 2002
Jimtown, CO
Just drop out. I am doing fine with my degree from the school of hardknocks & it cost me zip.

jimmydean

The Official Meat of Ridemonkey
Sep 10, 2001
Portland, OR
Swap major/minor and go unemployable. A 2 year JC degree in PoliSci should be worth a buck over minimum wage by todays standards.

CrabJoe StretchPants

Reincarnated Crab Walking Head Spinning Bruce Dick
Nov 30, 2003
Groton, MA
Don't worry, the math will get MUCH harder.
Ditto.