Quantcast

Don't Click...it's gross

Orvan

Mar 5, 2002
Califor-N.I.A.
I warned you but I do have a question.

On today's DH ride, me and a buddy took some serious diggers. He alone took several traumatizing spills while I was very very fortunate to have been wearing my fullface helmet and just receiving a few gashes on my chin (plus a kicked in chest/sternum area)...
My question is, if a fellow rider ended up with an injury as bad as shown in the picture out on the trail, what are the steps to take? I'm not a medic by nature so I just want to be prepared....

Ranger

Swift, Silent, Deadly!
Aug 16, 2001
Y'all can't see me...
Servus!

Jeezus, that looks like it hurt like hell!

I am not a medical professional - merely someone who has been trained in first-aid.

First action - stay calm - both of you. Panicking will not help the situation and if the injured party is calm, then

Priority one - stop the bleeding. Direct compression with a clean cloth is best. Once the bleeding has lessened, tie a constricting band an inch above and below the wound. A constricting band is one that cuts of veinous bloodflow but not arterial - this can be best defined as tight, but not so tight that you cannot get two fingers under it. DO NOT TIE THE BANDS SO TIGHT THAT THEY CUT OFF ALL BLOOD FLOW! This is a tournaquet and is designed to save the life of someone who will bleed to death! Everything below the tournaquet will most likely be amputated! This is good if someone loses a limb - not for a cut or abrasion like this!

Make the injured party lie down, make him comfortable. Raise the wounded area above the heart. If you are not close enough to civilisation that you cannot safely transport him out, cover him with whatever you have to keep him warm (helps avoid the onset of shock) and FIND SOMEONE who can contact an ambulance. Do not leave your buddy alone unless you have NO OTHER CHOICE.