Quantcast

Downhill or Freeriding

mtnbiker7

Monkey
May 22, 2007
New Jersey
I just started riding about a month ago and want to devote most of my time to one thing, I already do some cross country trail riding and will stick with that but want to Freeride or Downhill, which of the 2 is more fun, just what do you think is better.

stinkyboy

Plastic Santa
Jan 6, 2005
¡Phoenix!
You're gonna get hurt doing either. (but it's fun) I guess it depends on you, your skill level, pain tolerance and bike choice.

Have fun!

ultraNoob

Yoshinoya Destroyer
Jan 20, 2007
Hills of Paradise
If you're into pedaling, then freeride.
If you're into hiking, then Downhill.

It's just like sex.., it's exciting before you do it, hella fun while you're doing it, and you feel exhausted after a good session. Just remember to always wear protection.

also depends on your location...if you are in a big mountain place...maybe downhill is the way to be. If you are out east like me with not much mountain, you have to get creative and freeride. Both are equally as fun! You should give them all a try.

SeaPig

Monkey
Sep 20, 2005
Seattle
in my opinion unless you're racing they're the same thing no days. Some people say freeriding is skinies and jumps and such, but the last race I did had all that in a downhill course. What I would do, is get out of your seat, shorten your steam, slack your head angle, fatten your tires and ride down and off anything you feel comfortable riding. This is what I did after years of XC and spandex. I even climb my DH bike, not fun, but I do it. In other words get out of definition and get into action. Peace and ride!

G-spot

Monkey
May 3, 2004
Chester,Va.
I would say get a freeride bike and you can downhill with it-easier then freeriding with a DH bike.I ride a Cove G-spot for both and enjoy them equally!!My bike is set up more for FR then DH, but I DH race with it.

rigidhack

Turbo Monkey
Aug 16, 2004
In a Van(couver) down by the river