Quantcast

Dream Bike-help needed?

Rik

Turbo Monkey
Nov 6, 2001
Sydney, Australia
G'day... i'm a newb here, just fitting in (thats a story for a different thread though)

Anyway, i just got a job at a bike shop, and need a new bike, so, i'm building up a "dream bike" that will be the ultimate ride, since i've got cash and discounts now

heres what i have planned so far:
GT Zaskar Race frame (warehouse clearance, less than wholesale price :))
Mavic Crossride wheels (can get them at almost cost, and they're almost as light as my brothers heliums :eek: :))
Magura HS33 brakes (they're sittin in the shop, so why not)
and probably a mix of LX and XT bits

but, what i'm wondering is....
what forks would you guys reccomend? i'm looking for something light, to suit the bike, but tough enough to take a beating in XC from my unfit fatness (i'm about 90kgs now, 20kgs overweight compared to when i was racing)
are SID XC's any good? or can i do better?

and, any suggestions for really light components that will last a while? i'm thinking easton carbon bars, can get them cheap, but what else are some good XC bits that'd suit a bike like this?

i know, lx spec isnt that good (well sorta), i see most American magazine reviewers wont settle for less than XTR, but hey, i'm 18 and usually ride stx spec stuff, and things are alot more $$ here in Aus, so LX is pretty good for my level of riding, xt is great, and xtr is the stuff of wet dreams

cheers guys, any input welcome

R

RideMonkey

Isnt it fun to spec a new bike :)

My 2 cents:

I don't like GT frames. I have one. I really dislike the frame geometry. Very tall seat tube/head tube and short top tube results in a big bike with little standover height. The steer tube angle seems steep, and the front wheel always wants to wash out on the slightest oversteer. There are a lot of people here on RM that love the Zaskar, I'm just not one of them.