Quantcast

flat pedals...

Chinaboy

Chimp
Mar 18, 2004
Williams Lake, BC
alright...I'm new at ridemonkey, very cool site.
Got a question for all you seasoned riders....I'm an old school XC rider just recently switched over to the dark side (much more fun!!), I have spent years riding clipped in, now without the fancy pedals and shoes, I cant seem to keep my feet on the pedals when I'm doing drops, I only do max 4 footers since I'm old, even basic bunny hops give me problems sometimes. Any suggestions? new pedals? shoes? technique?
Thanks for any comments.

Chinaboy from Northern British Columbia.

BIGHIT756

Monkey
Jan 6, 2004
Maple Valley, Washington
try to get flats have multiple pins on them, like 6-8 or so, then get some flat skateboarding type shoes, that have a nice grippy sole on them. also try to get concave pedals, so that they shape to your shoe better. hope this helps, if it doesn't, i don't know what to tell you!!

Mike.rider

Monkey
Jun 14, 2003
renton, WA
go to supergo.com and pic up some wayless b37 flats or if you wana stay with clips and got money get some crankbrothers malet pedals. good luck and welcome to the dark side

smedford

Monkey
Jan 31, 2004
Bellingham, WA
A decent set of flats and the right shoe combo can't be beat. I use Kona Jack****s with old school vans. Perfect for me.

I also am a converted xc geen that came from clipless.

Juvat

Chimp
Nov 23, 2003
Merkel (Dyess AFB), TX
I've never used clipless, toe clips or anything of the sort. I was using a set of Wellgo B-37s, but I had a problem with the pedals coming apart. Even loc-tite didn't help. Now I use the new Specialized Lo' Pro Mag Platforms. I love 'em so far. Oh, and I have an old pair of Airwalks that have served me well for so long. :)

TyF

Chimp
Feb 3, 2004
Fort Collins, CO