Quantcast

Funny chase/takedown from the bike yesterday...

manimal

Ociffer Tackleberry
Feb 27, 2002
Blindly running into cactus
**for the noobs to RM...i'm a cop in the projects and i ride a bike a good part of the time**

so i'm cruising through one of my most problematic projects yesterday evening about 730pm when my partner and i see two guys walking beside a residential building. nothing was very suspicious about these two until they ducked in behind the building when they saw us looking at them. so i tell my partner to go around to the left while i approach from the right. i come up on the pair and one of the guys starts walking away faster. i tell him to stop just as my partner comes around the corner of the building in front of him. the dude bolts down the hill. we give chase for about 50 yards and, just as he's about to scale a wall to get away from us, i cut him off.
now here's the funny part. there is no "safe" way to do a takedown from a bike. most of the "experts" in the field of police biking won't endorse any particular method because of the inherent risk involved. so i made up my own yesterday that worked pretty well. i'll normally pull up beside the runner and just grab him and let him break my fall as i ditch the bike but yesterday was different.
due to the wall on the right side, my only option was to ram him from the back. i managed to shove my front tire in between his legs while simultaneously grabbing his shoulder and pulling him back toward my handlebar. this motion caused him to fall, butt first onto my tire but, because i was holding him by the shoulder, he didn't fall to the ground; he just sat on my tire as if it were a chair. his jeans made an awful buzzing noise as my Kenda Kiniption tires rubbed a hole in them as we slowed down.