Quantcast

Just how much does a missing spoke compromise a wheel's strength?

I Are Baboon

The Full Dopey
Aug 6, 2001
MTB New England
So last night as the wife and I were at the trailhead about to start our ride, I noticed my rear wheel was missing a spoke. Seeing how I don't carry spare spokes, nor would I know how to put one on and true the wheel, I said "Screw it" and rode the nine mile loop with a missing spoke. I'm just curious how bad of an idea that was. I figure it was just one spoke...the wheel's got a bunch more to pick up the slack. :D

I did take it easy on the ride, i.e. no hucks, drops, or playing on stunts.

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
Back when I was a broke high school student and unable to afford very much, broken spokes got wrapped around the spoke next to it and ridden.

Not sure how much it compromises the wheel's strength but my buddy and I often had upwards of three broken spokes on our bikes at a time and never had a problem because of it. :think:

I Are Baboon

The Full Dopey
Aug 6, 2001
MTB New England
Yeah, I figure even if the wheel decided to fail, what's the worst that would happen? I'd fall.

After the ride I told the wife that I think I need a new wheelset. She wasn't too warm to that idea. :rolleyes:

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
It's too bad she's a mountain biker. Otherwise, you could give her the old, "What? No, you can't just replace one spoke. You need to replace the whole wheel. And you have to buy wheels in pairs."

:D

stosh

Darth Bailer
Jul 20, 2001
NY
I Are Baboon said:
I'm 175 but it's ALL muscle!

I'm just thinking in my phat a$$ case the one time I rode with a bent spoke I bent more.

Wumpus

makes avatars better
Dec 25, 2003
Six Shooter Junction
I've ridden with a missing spoke for a few rides. The only concern is that if you lose one then you throw the tension of the reamining spokes off, but if you check them and make sure the rest are tight it shouldn't be an issue.