Quantcast

Let's talk smokers

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
My wife has suggested we get one. Who am I to argue? Looking for suggestions on styles, brands, methods, etc. What to look for, what to avoid.

gonefirefightin

free wieners
I’ve been using these for the last 15 years or so.

Masterbuilt MB20070210 Analog Electric Smoker with 3 Smoking Racks, 30 inch, Black https://a.co/d/dA33K3Y

They last about 5 years before they rust out since to use them properly with a water pan when smoking.

the best smoke and flavor comes from the fine chips such as these.

Smokehouse Products All Natural Flavored Wood Smoking Chips https://a.co/d/h5q1J8I

They burn slower and produce more smoke than the bigger chips.

during thanksgiving I will typically smoke 4 whole turkey breasts and a ham at the same time only refilling the water and chips once.

Atomic Dog

doesn't have a custom title yet.
Oct 22, 2002
In the basement at Weekly World News
I’ve been using these for the last 15 years or so.

Masterbuilt MB20070210 Analog Electric Smoker with 3 Smoking Racks, 30 inch, Black https://a.co/d/dA33K3Y

They last about 5 years before they rust out since to use them properly with a water pan when smoking.

the best smoke and flavor comes from the fine chips such as these.

Smokehouse Products All Natural Flavored Wood Smoking Chips https://a.co/d/h5q1J8I

They burn slower and produce more smoke than the bigger chips.

during thanksgiving I will typically smoke 4 whole turkey breasts and a ham at the same time only refilling the water and chips once.
I have that same smoker and I hate it. The rheostat controller and the lack of insulation sucks for holding a consistent temp, and I've always struggled to keep wood chips burning as the air circulation is poor.

That doesn't stop me from using it, though, as I'm too cheap to buy something different.

gonefirefightin

free wieners