Quantcast

Little help on a tubeless problem

mtbtuc8700

Chimp
Nov 14, 2001
CT
Ok, so I have have been running homemade tubeless on Singletrack rims for a while now with no problems with IRC Trailbear tires. I also have a bike with Bontrager Race Disc Tubeless wheels. I have been running Michelin Hot S tires on these wheels with the homemade mixture (water, liquid latex, slime). I have no problems getting them to seal or anything, I have been running them for a few months now with no problems. I usually run around 35 to 40 psi max. So like 2 weeks ago it was like 85 degrees or so out and I had the front wheel in my backseat and it blew while I was driving and scared the crap out of me. Anyway it stretched the bead and the tire was done.
So moving on to this weekend I had a 24 hour race and had just finished my last lap and was getting things packed up and the rear tire just blows hanging on a stand. It was only like maybe 80 out. Again stretching the bead.

I can understand the first blow out it was probably kinda hot in the back of my car and blew but, I don't see how it went from like 35 psi to whatever preasure it blew at in like 30 minutes. Same with the bike just sitting in a stand under a tent. Oh, and one more note I have used these tires on the singletrack rims with no problems tubeless, but it was never really this hot out then.