Quantcast

My standby feature no longer works...

BMXman

I wish I was Canadian
Sep 8, 2001
Victoria, BC
So I bought a new computer and now my standby feature doesn't work. I can't figure out how to get it going again...maybe I need to down load some kind of driver or patch??....It's a no name tower w/ my old HP keyboard...any advice....D

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
Did the standby mode ever work on your new computer?

FYI, I find standby modes to be awful. Much of the time the computer starts back up slow and crashy, sometimes causes headaches with certain pieces of hardware, especially network adapters... Much better to just let the hard drives spin down and the monitor go off, or shut the whole thing down.

sanjuro

Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF
I am an old time computer admin, and the idea that you have an incomplete shutdown seems horrendous.

Sit through a fsck of a 32gb drive for a hour, and you want to "sync ; sync ; halt" your computer every time.

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
Well... With journaled filesystems in widespread use, fsck is less of a nightmare than it used to be.

Suspending a system doesn't usually do anything bad to the disk data, but bringing it back up can result in a horribly buggy system until the next reboot.

Westy

the teste
Nov 22, 2002
Sleazattle
With all the stupid spy software my company loads on my computer it takes 15-20 minutes to boot up from a shutdown. I go weeks without ever shutting down, the undock function doesn't work so I use standby so I can remove it from the dock and keep up powered up overnight withouth having to waste a good chunk of my day starting up.

sanjuro

Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF
Well... With journaled filesystems in widespread use, fsck is less of a nightmare than it used to be.
I don't trust those Journaling File Systems. If you ask me, the only file system I trust is Veritas Volume Manager and File System.

sanjuro

Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF