Quantcast

Need your help

Karpieldisco

Chimp
Mar 24, 2002
Abingdon, MD
I have been racing for about 15 years and am on the verge of hitting 30. Ouch. I have raced xc, ds, mx and downhill and have taken a year off this year to recover from a bad accident last year and to buy a house.. Save some money. But I have decided that I am too out of shape and need to get back where I was and want to get a road bike to help with the training. With funds being a little low I was wondering what everyone though about the following bike. Trek . I really want an OCLV, since I have ridden them before and I loved it but the $ is not there for one. Why TREK? For me it is because they are the only road bikes that i have ever gotten on and did not have to adjust anything except the seat.

Again i will be new to this world but would love to make the move forward and maybe even get in to some local races. Let me know... THanks..

dhrider

Chimp
Nov 5, 2003
culpeper,VA
have u looked at cannondale r series, i have a r600 and its awesome, not carbon tho, but one hell of a fine road bike i think.

Nitromike

Monkey
May 14, 2004
Some ghetto in Houston
Too bad you're stuck on Trek, this is more bike for the same money.

FRAME Specialized compact design, Columbus SLX, double-butted, heat-treated
FORK Specialized Carbon Zertz, bonded carbon legs, 7075 alloy threadless steerer
HEADSET Specialized Mindset, 1 1/8” integrated threadless, with triple sealed cartridge bearings, alloy cone and headset spacers
STEM Specialized Pro, 3D forged alloy, 31.8mm bar clamp, 4-position adjustable, 4-bolt
HANDLEBARS Specialized Zertz Comp, racing drop, 31.8mm diameter
TAPE / GRIPS Body Geometry, thin Bar Phat, cork ribbon
FRONT BRAKE Dual pivot, forged alloy, with cartridge multi-condition pads
REAR BRAKE Dual pivot, forged alloy, with cartridge multi-condition pads
BRAKE LEVERS Shimano 105, STI
FRONT DERAILLEUR Shimano 105, 31.8mm clamp, bottom pull
REAR DERAILLEUR Shimano Ultegra, short cage (double)