Quantcast

Shoes and pedals that hook together

Matt 891

Chimp
Apr 14, 2008
Salem, VA
...yeaaaa the title is about all I know about being clipped in or clip less or spd or whatever the heck it's called.

I race downhill at the amateur level, get rowdy on trail bikes and torture myself on my road bike sprinting mostly like it's a downhill run.

I've never rode anything but flat pedals.

Should I start out on my road bike or trail bike? Shoes, pedals??? Budget... Hate to spend alot on an 'experiment'

I hope I like it. Seems the best in all disciplines ride clipped in these days.

Da Peach

Outwitted by a rodent
Jul 2, 2002
North Van
I just started riding clipless. It has actually saved me from going OTB a couple times... Of course, it's been super dry. Not sure I will like it as much in the wet.

mtg

Green with Envy
Sep 21, 2009
Denver, CO
I do at least 95% of my riding clipped in, from road to trail to DH. When you're first learning how to ride clipped in, you'll probably fall over a couple times. Maybe the road bike will be slightly more forgiving?

The Shimano DX pedals are by far the most popular for clipping in for DH. I prefer Crank Brothers myself due to the float, despite lower reliability of the CB pedals vs Shimano. I've heard good things about Time pedals also- supposedly work like CB, but reliable like Shimano.

For shoes, Shimano AM45s are a solid choice, as well as other options from 5.10 (Hellcat/Minnaar, Maltese Falcon), etc. Those are probably the most popular.

For budget, the cheapest would be borrowing something from a friend to try it once. Next up would be getting a shoe that can be used with clips or flats, as a backup if you can't get used to clips. You should be able to find shoes for $50 - $100, similar for pedals.

Lelandjt

Turbo Monkey
Apr 4, 2008
Breckenridge, CO/Lahaina,HI