Quantcast

Spankin New Any suggestions??

luv2rideu

Chimp
Feb 16, 2005
Austin TX
So, I have been perfectly happy with my electra cruiser, she has treated me well, but thanks to my BF I've got the DH bug bad!
They just opened a mountain bike park in southwest Austin Tx (ATX), check it out anyhoo.. http://twinparkscountryclub.com/mountain_biking.htm
... There is a few good lookin' burms, quite a few jumps, up to 30ft.? tabletops, and plenty of trails. Back to da point, I'm a newbie and am interested in DH and freeride, eventually jumpin', if I'm thrilled with it...So I have been checking out the Santa Cruz Bullit/Heckler, Haro extreme, My BF has a Kona Dawg...and I'm in love with it except he doesnt think it is such a good bike to start with...especially if I dump $1500 on it and decide its not right for me. So whatdaya think...hardtail/ or full suspension? Luv sum advice from my fellow ladies......and monkeys. :confused: :D
Thanx!!

dhjill

Monkey
Feb 26, 2003
SD Cali
If you want to get into freeride and DH, I'd say a full-sus bike is the way to go. They are certainly a lot more forgiving than their hardtail counterparts! After you develop some skills, getting on a hardtail "to keep it real" can be fun, though.

As for what brand...well, I'm a little jaded since I work for Haro...but you really can't go wrong with an Extreme if you are looking to choose between that and a Santa Cruz. They are both single pivot bikes with very similar geometry, so choice really boils down to how much money you want to spend. A complete Haro will run you about what just the Bullit/Heckler frame alone would cost. Of course, Santa Cruz has the boutique "made in the USA image" (however if I'm not mistaken SC has taken production of both those models to Taiwan) that you can use to impress your friends, but if you want to have a little money left over to buy gear, get the Haro. Just my opinion, of course...