Quantcast

the HollowPoint is starting to look like something

jacksonpt

Turbo Monkey
Jul 22, 2002
Vestal, NY
I was bored last night, so I decided to swap parts over from my old mongoose to the hollowpoint frame I got in a swap a couple of weeks ago. I've never done this type of thing before, so I wasn't sure if I'd be able to swap over the fork or the cranks - everything else I was pretty sure I could do.

Turns out the fork was fairly simple - a couple of parts from the old headset were stuck to it, but a bit of encouragement from the ol hammer got them off. The cranks I can't get off because I don't have the right tools. Everything else is coming along though.

Things I've moved:
- fork
- stem
- bars
- shifters/brake levers
- front vbrake
- rear derailleur
- seat post/saddle

Things I still have to do:
- move cranks/BB
- buy a front derailleur (LX)
- run shifter cable to derailleurs
- buy grips (Ruffian Lock-ons)

The frame is disc only, and I don't have a second set of disc brakes at the moment, so for now, I'm going to run just a front vbrake. Eventually I'm hoping to find a good deal on a set of used Avid Mechs.

The hollowpoint has a design defect where a brace between the seat stays hits the seat tube if the shock is bottomed out. IronHorse "fixed" the issue by providing new links that give a secondary shock mounting location. The problem is that it reduces the travel from 4.5" to 3". Once I get the build done, I'm going to look into drilling a 3rd set of holes, hoping to get about 4" of travel out of the bike. If it works, I may look into have a new set of links machined for me with just the one set of mounting holes, allowing for a reliable 4" of travel.

Here are a couple of pics - I'll get better ones when the monsoon passes.

Wumpus

makes avatars better
Dec 25, 2003
Six Shooter Junction
Looking good.

jacksonpt said: