Quantcast

What the fork kinda oil should I use?

Jan 12, 2005
I'm new to this. I've got a couple of older oil damped forks. A Marzocchi Z5 and a Rock Shox Judy xc, both Y2K. Just painted them and replaced the seals and I need to know if I have to use the mfr's oil or if theres something (motor oil, olive oil, whale oil, massage oil) that does the same thing. If it makes any difference the JUdy is for a 100 lb kid and the Marzocchi will be ridden by his father, a 200 lb kid. And what about Rock Shox butter? Whats up with that? Is it any different from lithium grease? Fill me in. Thanks.

HRDTLBRO

Turbo Monkey
Feb 4, 2004
Apt. 421
As for oil, just use the standard oil, or just cruise to your local bike shop, and they may have oil there. If not, they can order some. I use Judy Butter for my Boxxer...it just keeps the Bushings well lubed, and helps clean grit from the dust wiper seal.

Kornphlake

Turbo Monkey
Oct 8, 2002
Portland, OR
fork oil is specially formulated so that it doesn't foam, won't deteriorate seals and comes in a variety of weights from 2.5 wt up to around 20 wt. I think all marzochi forks reccomend 7.5 wt oil, I'm not sure about the rockshox but 7.5 or 5wt would be a pretty good place to start. I get my oil from a moto shop you get about 5 times more for half the price of what you'd get at a bike shop. I've used golden spectro and it works well, but others swear by other brands. You can use automatic transmission fluid as well, but I've got no first hand experience.

BRacing

Monkey
Feb 3, 2003
NorCal
Try the local motorcycle shops. Look for Golden Spectro or Silkolene (my favorite). Use a 7.5w oil, or a 5w if you like faster dampening. They typically run about $15 per quart or liter.

-Brad

Dartman

Old Bastard Mike
Feb 26, 2003
Richmond, VA
My favorite for Marzocchi's is Bel-Ray Performance Fork Oil. Found at your local Motorcycle shop.

The only grease you should use on a Marzocchi is to lube the o-ring on the foot nut.

Mike

sanjuro