Quantcast

what to get?

thecowsays

Chimp
Dec 26, 2003
I'm a college student who is seriously financially crippled after paying for school. I am wanting a bike to ride around town and every now and then hit some trails. I probably won't be hitting any really hard trails.

I'm wondering if any of you have some suggestions as to a cheap cheap bike for this ... would a Schwinn from ToysRUs work fine for me? I have about $200 to spend, if even that.

Ridemonkey

This is not an active account
Sep 18, 2002
Toronto, Canada
Originally posted by thecowsays
I'm wondering if any of you have some suggestions as to a cheap cheap bike for this ... would a Schwinn from ToysRUs work fine for me? I have about $200 to spend, if even that.
No, don't do that! There is no 200 dollar bike that will be adequate for the trails.

There is hope though - buy used. Look locally or on ebay or mtbr.com. There aren't a lot of 200 dollar bikes for sale on this board.

You might be best off getting a used bike locally though. Just the cost of shipping a bike is going to cut deeply into your budget.

KrusteeButt

I can't believe its not butter!
Jul 3, 2001
why the hell do YOU care?!
I highly recommend checking the school's paper. There are ALWAYS students looking to sell their bikes. For $200 you can get something that's easily adequate for around town riding. If you're planning on riding on trails, well, I'd recommend that they be pretty basic trails without any crazy climbing or descending.

thecowsays

Chimp
Dec 26, 2003
Thanks for the Info!

Just curious, are there any brands I should stay away from? Do y'all have any reccamendations for a decent bike that I might find around this price?

FlipSide

Turbo Monkey
Sep 24, 2001
Honestly, you won't really find a good trail-worthy bike in good working order for this price.