Quantcast

Why does this happen?

luvz2ridez

Monkey
Jul 19, 2006
Shoreline, WA
I was out Sat & Sun practicing small jumps. I've never done a jump before, but want to learn. Sat. I was on flats and successfully did a small jump twice, each time with my front foot sliding off the pedal. Now, I know what my problem was, I was not keeping my heal down. Sun. I went back and tried this with my clipless pedals. I successfully did the small jump the first time, obviously not falling off because I was clipped in, but I did notice my foot was in the same position as the day before. Then for some reason, I chickened out and could not attempt to do the small jump again! Why does this happen. I get this mental block and then I can't do it again, even though I just did it successfully the first time? Second questions, how do I force my heal down so when I try again on flats I don't slip off the pedal?:confused:

Mudpuppy

Monkey
Oct 20, 2001
Port Orchard/Not WSU
Well, I can't speak for everyone but are always scary. Until you are used to something much bigger it will be scary. For me like 90% of jumping is getting past the mental stuff and hitting the jump with enough speed etc. Once I get that I can do anything. But I start fresh everytime. :banghead:

For your foot problem, I would say that if you pop off the jump a little more and tuck the bike, your foot won't come off. So, you come off the jump, the bike is moving up. You tuck it up under you and then as you start coming down you start to extend your legs. This keeps your feet on the pedals because the bike is either moving up into your feet or your feet are pushing down into the pedals. Jumping is a lot like bunny hopping, it is pretty much the same motion except less pronounced.:banana:

Yeti

Monkey
May 17, 2005
yeti cave@the beach