Quantcast

WHY IS THE 20" SCENE SO DIFFERENT THAN 26"?

VDfree

Monkey
Feb 18, 2005
germantown
Can someone please explain why all the hostility in the BMX scene? I have been riding bikes for 25 years, started on 20" and moved to 26" a few years later. I ride alot of urban, CC and DH and love those scenes. The people are really laid back and kinda have a surfer mentality. They are always looking to promote riding and spots to ride. I built a 20" bike about a year ago because I love all kinds of riding. To make a long story short, when I started meeting more guys on 20" bikes, the more I wanted to ride alone. I mean, it seems like the majority of the BMX guys have a chip on their shoulder and have no interest in promoting their sport. They try to portray some kind of bad boy image and scare alot of people from wanting to ride 20" bikes. Not to mention, getting us kicked out of our favorite riding spots because they are rude and inconsiderate to the people and property around them. It seems to me they would want people to let them ride their favorite rails, ledges, ditches and gaps.

Look, I'm not saying that all BMX riders are this way. I certainly am not. Although, some of you "hardcore" BMX guys may not consider me a "REAL" BMX rider because I also ride mountain bikes. I don't get it. Will someone please enlighten me?

I know this is kinda long winded, but I am a Noob to this forum and have been wondering what gives, since I got my 20" bike. That's another thing, I can already imagine some of the scinisism because I am a "Noob". Does that also reflect badly? I just want to ride my bikes and not get hassled, and hopfully hang with some fellas who just want to ride and not prove how "HARD" they are.

theFOOT

Monkey
Feb 22, 2005
nowhere
uhh, i know a lot of bmx guys that are awesome people also. i know a couple who are mean people, but that isnt because they bmx, its just them, im not a bmxer, and i have had no problems with them.

VDfree

Monkey
Feb 18, 2005