Quantcast

24" street specific frames

ReVolVeRage

Monkey
Dec 28, 2006
MD/ NYC
Alright, the label under my username may say I'm a new when it comes to da monkey, but I'm not. I've been floating around da monkey for a couple months now, I just never bothered to reply or post to anything because I'm to lazy, and you guys already answer all of my questions :thumb: .

Anywho, back on topic; I'm in a bit of a pickle here. I've only been doing street MTB for a year now, so I'm by no means "good". I purchased a Kona Stuff 2-4 in June. Yes, a kids bike. I bought the bike when I was 5' 4" or so. Now, I'm 5' 7" and it's not looking like I'm gonna stop anytime soon:happydance:. Furthermore, I'm outgrowing my frame. It's getting pretty bad, I can't turn the bars to much when I'm sitting down becuase my knee's hit the bars. I want something better, something different.

So, this means I'm in the market for a new frame! (and maybe a new fork and wheelset. :D )

I'm looking for a frame that has the ability to:
- to put a 140mm fork on (pike). (I'll be adjusting it down to 95mm when hitting up the city).
- put gears on.
- be used primarily for street, but be able to do some mild and easy all mountain riding

Some key features that I would like include:
- BMX feel
- short top tube (the smallest size STP feels like way to big of a stretch for me).
- 24" specific

Is there such a thing out there? I've been doing a bunch of reasearch lately trying to find the right frame, I've come up with the Banshee Scratch, and the DMR Transition. I'm not crazy about the scratch, maybe it just looks funny to be or something, but theres just something I don't like about it. The DMR looks great, but it's still not quie right. Can you guys help me out? I figured you guys would help me out and show me some options compared to the women over at Pinkbike who will tell me to buy a Norco, Giant or a Dob.

Thanks for all the help!

monkeyboy424

Turbo Monkey
Mar 19, 2002
Place