Quantcast

A question for the racers

derekpearson

Monkey
Jan 25, 2004
What are your thoughts on the candid shots I take. Not if you like them, but would you feel uncomfortable if you turned around and saw me pointing the lens at you?

The reason I ask.

I started shooting some candids on Saturday and my first two shots, the first guy looked really agitated so I stopped. The second guy actually came up and asked me not to take his picture. It kind of stopped me from taking the lifestyle pictures over the weekend because my intention is not to be a "stalker" or try and catch people in embarrasing situations, but to try and show the whole "scene". I like the action shots, but I think there is more to it than that and I like showing people the behind the scenes kind of shots as well.

I try to be discrete when I'm shooting, but not for any other reason than people don't act natural once they see the camera.

Sunday afternoon a couple of girls came up to me and told me that they loved the lifestyle stuff, so I got my second wind and got a few after the race. I really would like to hear your thougts on this matter!

D

frizanko

Monkey
Jan 29, 2004
Bend, OR
The lifestyle pics show one of the coolest things about the races... Half the fun is being around all the different people from all over the place and just hangin out.

Toshi

Harbinger of Doom
Oct 23, 2001
getting yelled at for shooting pics sucks. i feel your pain. :dead:

Snacks

Turbo Monkey
Feb 20, 2003
GO! SEAHAWKS!
I'm not a DH racer, but here is what I think as a spectator.....

I love the life style shots. It's nice to see everyone in none racing mode.

When Michael Cain was coming to the races with his camera he would just walk around and take a ton of pit shots. At first it was a little strange....you'd just be sitting there talking and he would be walking around snapping shots. I think after a while you just got used to it.

IMO the candids tell the story behind the story....if that makes any since.