Quantcast

Any Of You Riding A Newer R.S. Super Deluxe?

rideit

Bob the Builder
Aug 24, 2004
In the cleavage of the Tetons
I have been riding Fox rear suspension for 15 years now, but my Zeb has been a revelation. Thinking about a Super Deluxe and Pike for the Element I have on order. I love the ‘damp’ feeling of an X2 (when not running coil). Does anyone have insights on the personality of the RS vs., say, a DPX2 or the newer Float? I understand I might want a little more ‘pop’ on a 120mm bike…

6thElement

Schrodinger's Immigrant
Jul 29, 2008
2021 DPX2 on my trailbike.
2021 SD Ultimate on my DH bike

Not really comparable platforms, but no complaints.

Feb 21, 2020
SoCo Western Slope
I have a SD for the enduro, it was mediocre until it got Vorsprung and "tractive tuned".

It for sure had the more "pop' feeling you are looking for, was quite stiff early in the stroke and harsher in general. Did not have the damped and soft feeling of a Fox X2 ( my boy has one).

Vorsprung is always an option if it isn't everything you want it to be. Steve (or any vorsprung suspension shop) has the means to get those things just like you want, very impressive.

Andeh

Customer Title
Mar 3, 2020
I haven't had a '21 version but I think they're the same as the last few years. I've ridden and owned a few. I like it a lot better than the DPX2, but it's quite different than the X2. DPX2 has a weird shitty valving design that lets the rebound effect the compression and vice versa. So if you run the rebound really fast it's hard to get the compression right and vice versa. SD feels a lot more normal. Definitely felt a bit more damped than the DPX2, but way easier to set up. The other big difference is I could run like 70 psi less on the SD than the DPX2 for the same bike.

Edit: if you can hold off, the BlackBox version athletes have been testing of the SD has HSC adjust (3 clicks) and hydraulic bottom out (adjustable).

rideit

Bob the Builder
Aug 24, 2004