Quantcast

Any pro dh'ers riding air rear shocks

unskilled

Monkey
Jul 12, 2007
just curious to see if anyone has a picture or knows if any pro's are running air shocks. I'm between going air or coil on a future am-fr build and just spiked my curiousity. I see the norco has an air shock on their main dh bike, didn't know if the trend was continuing elsewhere.

ROTFLMAO

Monkey
Nov 17, 2007
Maumee, Ohio
I am no pro but I have been running a Manitou Evolver air shock on my Morewood Izimu and I really like it. It does feel different than a coil but not in a bad way. I LOVE the adjust ability. Being able to easily adjust the pressure for different terrain is awesome.

General Lee

Turbo Monkey
Oct 16, 2003
The 802
other than at Sea Otter no pro of any real standing has raced with an air shock in years. seemed like there were a bunch being tested in '05-06 but that's about as far as it got. there was a Dirt article last spring about the blockbox program testing air shocks on peaty's v10 and how they were trying to address some of the problems inherent with using them on a dh bike.

spliffy

Monkey
Dec 10, 2007
DURANGO Colorado
I ran one of the first dhx 5.0 air shocks in my m3 back in 05. It was ok for some courses but it did pack out on higher speed big hit courses. For most riders who are above 150-170 pounds it does not make sense unless you have both to swap out for different stuff. And to be honest a dhx coil with ti spring realy is not that much heayer than the air shock in the same length. There are still some protos in the works from almost all three big manifactures right now, but its been a battle to get the small bump compliance the same to a coil.

iRider

Turbo Monkey
Apr 5, 2008
At the Willingen WC a bunch of the Mojo guys and Kovarik on the Socom proto were running air shocks.
There is a Maxxis ad where Sam has an air shock in his Sunday. Quite a few years old though.
Udi uses a DHX Air. Not Pro, but close :twitch:

Commencal-guy

Monkey
Nov 25, 2007