Quantcast

Anyone built a computer?

bomberz1qr20

Turbo Monkey
Nov 19, 2001
I bought a used comp from my work, and I've been rebuilding it and tweaking it.

Almost as addictive as bike mechanic work.

Anyone else built a system from the floor up?

J

JRB

I think lots of people have. Not me, but lots of other people.

bomberz1qr20

Turbo Monkey
Nov 19, 2001
Oh, duh...

Specs:

Athlon XP 2200+ overclocked to 2400+
Thermalright SLK900A heatsink w/ 90mm 56cfm fan
Asus A7N8V v.104
768 megs DDR 2100 ram
2 x 60g IBM Deskstar HDD
Lite On 52x24x52 CDRW
Radeon 7500 video (next upgrade is a 9550XT)
Avertv Stereo TV tuner
Crappy Compusa case

New Antec case/PSU on the way in UPS...

All told so far: $396.00

bomberz1qr20

Turbo Monkey
Nov 19, 2001
surfinguru said:
Yeah, I'm a tech nerd. Been building my own rigs for a while now. Latest foray is water cooling. :thumb:

P4 2.8E @3.2GHz
Abit IC7-G
ATI 9800 Pro
SB Audigy Gamer
Swiftech H20-120-P watercooling kit
buncha hard drives
oh...and a big ol' 20" LCD monitor!

Really good technical, geeky site: http://www.ocforums.com/
I am definately using the same approach as I do with bikes:

Cheap
Durable
Easily upgradable
No regard to weight
Quiet (I ride a 36lb single speed)

Unfortunatley the water cooling approach would not fit in my scheme. At least not with any kits available. I think I'll have to hit the aquarium stores and throw something together...

:devil:

Ciaran

Fear my banana
Apr 5, 2004
So Cal
I have built many, many a computer in my day. Just don't let your friends find out, otherwise you will become their built in IT guy. Have fun!

Roasted

Turbo Monkey
Jul 4, 2002
Whistler, BC
I have probably built a few 1000. Been building for 19 years almost.

And ciaran is right. Never let your friends find out. Everyone wants to mooch your skills once they find out.

bomberz1qr20

Turbo Monkey
Nov 19, 2001
Ciaran said: