Quantcast

Boxxer troubles

Scurry

Monkey
May 9, 2003
Boston
I just got a near new 2003 boxxer race off a freind for a fairly good price, I think, problem, When he originally got it from rockshox it was in 6 in. He called them and tried to get it into 7 inches. He didnt do it correctly, so it has some parts mixed up inside. Like it has the big all travle spacers on top but when I take off the top caps and compress it it only goes down to about 6 inches. Can somone point me in the right direction here? I am not very good with the fork thing, this is my first DC.

Also at my firts race (a snow race, lots of crashes) I twisted the fork some how, i figure Ill, loosen everything up and it will be ok, WRONG! I also cant figure this out, I am sure I can ride it like this but I would rather have my fork look straight.

Any help would be greatly apreciated, the rock shox site isnt exactly helping me much, so a point in the right direction is what I need.

Sorry, I had a topic that was knda related to this.

RhinofromWA

Brevity R Us
Aug 16, 2001
Lynnwood, WA
Go to their site.

click here

select manuals and more

select Consumer

select RS Service guide

select 2003-2004 Boxxer Service guide

Print this out and you have everything you need to figure out the 7 inch travel setting is where it should be.

As for the twisting you might have twisted your lowers...and that is not repairable...but it is replaceable. I doubt just loosening everything would straighten it out. It may be time for a new lower....is it so bent you can tell easily....then it is definately time to replace.

Rhino

jackalope

Mental acuity - 1%
Jan 9, 2004
in a single wide, cooking meth...