Quantcast

CD burning problems

CrAckErKorEan

Ridemonkey's own half breed
Nov 29, 2001
Winder GA (Its in the sticks)
This is a weird problem that we (my wife and I ) are having with our burners.
I am a tech guy so this is kinda frustrating not knowing whats going on.

At the same time we both lost usability of our burners. Sometimes the burners will burn one CD be it data or music. But when we try the second one it just fails. Some times it doenst even burn at all.

I also noticed that when firefox closes it always errors out with some memory problems that my wifes computer does also.

I have run adaware, spybot and AVG free looking for the culprit but I have found nothing.

We are both running 2k with SP4. Any ideas?

clancy98

Monkey
Dec 6, 2004
stupid question -- new media? maybe a crappy batch of CD's? Your wife and your burners the same model or different?

Andyman_1970

Turbo Monkey
Apr 4, 2003
The Natural State
I had a similar problem on my desktop - new last year Compaq - I was able to burn several CD's but then couldn't. The drive now even "hangs" when just reading a music/Data/DVD - so I'm wondering if it's either a hardware problem or the driver is kaput.

Any ideas?

arboc!

Turbo Monkey
Dec 18, 2004
spokane, WA
alot of times burners are picky about what company discs you use. you should try different companys and see if it makes a difference

dogdude

Chimp
Apr 3, 2005
Fairfax County VA
ive seen overheating cause this to happen, also not enough room to cache the info on the harddrive while burning and even not having the latest updates to the cd burning software.

CrAckErKorEan

Ridemonkey's own half breed
Nov 29, 2001
Winder GA (Its in the sticks)
I thought about overheating also. Our computer room is in the bonus room and is cooled by a window unit. I guess I just need to turn the thermostat down and see what happens.

I tried buffer settings on mine and it didnt help it at all. I am not sure if my wife tried hers.

pixelninja

Turbo Monkey