Quantcast

Considering switching to clips from flats

Total Heckler

Beer and Bike Enthusiast
Apr 28, 2005
Santa Cruz, CA
I have been riding flats my whole life including the last 5 years or racing DH and also racing BMX when I was a kid.

I somewhat recently (July 17th) had shoulder surgery that has put me off a MTB until at least mid to late October. I was cleared to start riding road again 2 weeks ago by my doctor and physical therapist.

I have ridden road and cyclocross with clips for the past 5 years and when I started riding my road bike again a couple weeks ago, I quickly got comfortable/acclimated riding with them again. Track stands, sprinting, etc is all gravy now after putting almost 50 miles in over the last 2 weeks commuting to/from work.

I guess I am considering trying to make my comeback to DH with clips because of the potential perks of riding/racing with them. The reason this is even crossing my mind is because I am pretty comfortable with them on the road. But, I have never ridden DH with clips before so there are some pretty serious concerns I have with the idea of riding a MTB with them. The closest to riding DH with them is on my CX bike, but I usually keep that riding pretty tame.

My main concerns are cornering and steep gnarly stuff I think. I have gotten pretty used to quickly being able to drop my foot out to stabilize on cornering etc. And for steep parts I am worried about not being able to unclip if something bad was about to happen. I can also see getting sketched on a drop and trying to unclip putting me and my bike in an even more awkward position for landing than if I were on flats.

The perks would for sure be not having my foot blow off a pedal through rough terrain, drops, etc. The pedaling seems to be more appealing as well with being able to utilize the up stroke for more power.

Is it worth re-learning how to ride?

What do you guys think? Any of you guys converts? Let's hear your thoughts.

wiscodh

Monkey
Jun 21, 2007