Quantcast

Cove Shocker review

Zark

Hey little girl, do you want some candy?
Oct 18, 2001
Reno 911
Background
I've been riding for 13 years and riding and racing DH for 10 years.
I've never been much of a hucker or jumper, I just ride and race DH when I get the itch.
The local trails here are straight brutal. 20 minute descents, dropping 2,000' of vertical over broken sandstone.
In that time I've had a few DH bikes, a '98 Specialized FSR pro w/ a lot of MRP goodies was my first real gravity whip.
2000 Giant DH team, a 2002 Spec. Big Hit DH, and a 2003 Intense M1. The M1 was by far my favorite DH I'd owned, and will be my benchmark for comparison.
It pedaled good, cornered great and fit me well. It had a bit of an issue on square edged hits and small bump performance.
I've spent about two months now on the Shocker and here's my feedback to this point, I'll probably update this at a later date when I've had some more saddle time.

Construction.
This frame was made to last. Easton RAD tubing, massive wrap-around gussets and welds that define "stack of dimes".
The beefy and replaceable dropouts are a nice touch. The maxle rear end makes removing the rear wheel a tool-free operation.

Geometry.
Headangle, 65.5
BB height, 14.5"
Travel, 8.75"
Wheelbase, 46" (Medium)
Chainstay, 17.6"
Toptube, 22.6" (medium)

Fit.
I'm 5'10" and around 165lbs.
I ordered the medium, which is a 22.6" top tube, which is on the short side. My buddy quickly called the size "smedium"
I like a pretty compact bike, so this worked out pretty well. My knees aren't encroaching on the top crown and it doesn't feel tiny.
I put a layback seatpost on it to give me a bit more room. If you are any taller you might want to look at the large.

Build.
I'm a fan of riding my bikes, not wrenching on them constantly, so the build is on the reliable/heavy side.
Build weight is 45lbs and change.
'05 888 RC with low crowns
Hadley hubs, Mavic 729 rims, 14-15 DT spokes
Avid Juicy 7's on 203 rotors
Saint cranks