Quantcast

Covid stress

CrabJoe StretchPants

Reincarnated Crab Walking Head Spinning Bruce Dick
Nov 30, 2003
Groton, MA

On a semi-related note:

I know this was said (mostly) tongue-in-cheek, but I happened to be listening to a podcast the other day that brought up the apparent noted phenomenon of a decrease in mental health issues during times of really large crisis or war. Apparently, it's not just depressive assholes like me who feel better when shit gets really weird. Sebastian Junger wrote a book that addresses some of this that I guess I need to go find, and there is this apparently famous study done after WW2 that addresses a "community of sufferers". I'm no scientist or mental health expert, and perhaps there are plenty of holes to poke in the above noted works, but it does seem, at least anecdotally, to be a thing.

https://www.amazon.com/Tribe-Homecoming-Belonging-Sebastian-Junger/dp/1455566381
I feel like there are some parallels to this with nihilism as well, or whatever degree of that I have always considered myself to identify with. My mental and emotional stability and well being have always been a concern for most people that know me very well, but since this all started I almost feel more....normal? Like seeing a lot of general irritability, stress and inability to properly deal with it and overall emotional mood swings in just about everyone else to a degree gives me a "see?.... everything is fucked not happy and perfect like everyone likes to pretend" feeling.

Not sure I can adequately describe what I mean, as it's hard to describe in words. But I think I can draw parallels to what you described.

Pesqueeb

bicycle in airplane hangar
Feb 2, 2007
Riding the baggage carousel.