Quantcast

Crank bolts keep loosening

MMcG

Ride till you puke!
Dec 10, 2002
Burlington, Connecticut
So here's the deal.

My Karate Monkey has some LX cranks on it, Liam's Kona has some Deore cranks on it. On both bikes I've been having problems with the crank bolts loosening up after a decent ride.

Did I do something wrong while installing them, or is this a common issue with these older (but not super old) Shimano cranksets?

I make sure to tighten things up before each ride, but I keep thinking that I shouldn't have to do this before every ride.

Any advice?

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
I'm a bad mechanic with my cranks and bottom brackets.

I torque the crap out of them because I hate creaking bottom brackets and I had a crank bolt back out on me mid-ride, causing half the splines of my crankset to shear, and it scares me to think what would have happened if I had been doing any kind of decent drop or riding fast when it happened.

Not that I necessarily recommend it, just saying how I keep that particular item from backing out. You can try a dab of blue loc-tite and see if that solves the problem.

MMcG said:
So here's the deal.

My Karate Monkey has some LX cranks on it, Liam's Kona has some Deore cranks on it. On both bikes I've been having problems with the crank bolts loosening up after a decent ride.

Did I do something wrong while installing them, or is this a common issue with these older (but not super old) Shimano cranksets?

I make sure to tighten things up before each ride, but I keep thinking that I shouldn't have to do this before every ride.

Any advice?
are the bolts old? are the cranks old?

patineto

The RM Mad Scientist
Feb 19, 2002
berkeley, ca
Mark are the cranks and BB square taper or the octalink kind...!?