Quantcast

DHR question

drboudreaux

Chimp
Aug 2, 2005
mountains
Little but of help needed...

I have been riding an Ellsworth Joker (size M) for about 3 years now. After a couple of broken frames and many miles of good riding, it is time for an upgrade. I am seriously considering a Turner DHR. However, I have heard that the cockpits are somewhat cramped. I rode a friends large DEMO 9 and felt incredibly cramped on that bike. With this in mind, any DHR owners out there who could help me out with sizing issues? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

bfranke

Monkey
Feb 9, 2004
San Diego
How tall are you? I'm 6'1" and role on a large, feels perfect, but then again I didn't really get to test out any other sizes. Just couldn't pass up the deal on it.

drboudreaux

Chimp
Aug 2, 2005
mountains
I am 5'11" and weigh 165. I am going to throw a 888 on the front. My Joker is a M and has a Jr.T on the front with a 40mm stem. I am accustomed to the Joker after riding it for three years, so I want to get a similar "fit" out of the DHR. While I realize that the DHR is a completely different bike, I am hoping for as similar cockpit feel as possible.

Cave Dweller

Monkey
May 6, 2003
185cm, 95kg riding a medium DHR with a 50mm stem, seat at the same height\ as the top headset cup. Feels good, don't have to bend my arms at all and good for pedalling, get good leg extension.

I find the medium turner is actually bigger cock pit wise then other mediums i have ridden such as the demo 8 medium, big hit medium and a super 8 medium.

Rafael-DH

Monkey
Nov 6, 2001
Brazil
i'm 1,85m and i used to ride a Medium DHR... works great with me!
I use integrated Manitou Dorado's stem, on the second shortest position and 1.5" bars.
I used to ride an Yeti DH9 Medium.... its longer than the DHR....

bizutch

Delicate CUSTOM flower
Dec 11, 2001
Over your shoulder whispering
Rafael-DH said:
i'm 1,85m and i used to ride a Medium DHR... works great with me!