Quantcast

Dj Fork opinions

3rides

Chimp
Mar 17, 2004
Peace River, Alberta, Canada
I'm new to the dj world and I'm looking for a fork that isn't necessarily dj specific but will hold up to it. I also have plans on using it for street and general trail use.

What do you think of the Fox TALAS RLC? Anybody riding this fork? Is it tough enough? I currently have a Vanilla 125 RLC but I think I would appreciate the ease of the TALAS adjustability rather than tearing my fork apart to change travel.

My other option is to just set up my Van RLC to 80mm travel and leave it.

PS I'm running this setup on a Planet X new Jack Flash.

Any input would be appreciated, thanks.

rpk1988

Dec 6, 2004
Maryland
Check out the new Stance line. They are inexpensive and some come with 20 mm hex axles. Running your Fox wouldnt be a bad idea at all. I have heard great things about those forks and they are super adjustable. Go for it. The DJ series by Marzocchi works well too or possibly even a Z.1 series.

iridebikes

Monkey
Jan 31, 2004
seattle
don't get a stance. very cheap. I haven't really seen any super bad stuff about them, but I haven't heard anything great about them either.

Personaly if you're looking at a fox. get either the float or the talas. You'd be able to adjust preload super easily. You could pump it up to the point where it's almost locked out. but then again you could do the same thing with the lock out and blow off adjustment. but for how tough they are. the float, talas, and vanilla are all rated for freeride riding. the vanilla isn't considered to be a xc fork, so I think out of all of them that one might be warenteed for a little more abuse.
I would stay away from the new dj series from marzocchi... unless you want a 7.5 pound fork... then i guess its ok... if you can get ahold of an older(2002) dj1, then they're a little better weight wise, and look a bit cooler. You can also adjust those down to 80mm of travel if you wanted.