Quantcast

"downhill" trailbike fork options

sgarstin

Chimp
Feb 26, 2010
Hey guys,

I am considering getting a new bike for 2011 to do everything. I have never asked a question on here, but I know there are some guys who know their stuff when it comes to suspension on this board. I have been racing downhill for a few years, and have decided to stop, and now I just want to continue to ride...but ride more of everything, up and down. The main priority and enjoyment for me when riding is going downhill (who doesn't?).

I know I am not on a Downhill bike any more and instead on a "6 and 6" bike or whatever you want to call it. I have never had a proper high end "all-mountain" bike before. There is a lot of really good riding around where I live (Vancouver Island) for that style of bike and I want to take advantage of it and ride more for the enjoyment.

The bike I would be getting is the Knolly Chilcotin.

Here are some geo numbers:

16.85" chainstay, 13.4" bb, 45" wheelbase, 17" seat tube, 66 Degree head angle, 23.5" top tube.

The head angle and bb height can be higher/steeper but as I said before this is catered to descending. I am also going to run a Cane Creek Double Barrel rear shock instead of an air shock. I am going to be running some high end parts that are light so that will keep the weight down. I am not sure on the complete weight so I am not going to speculate. I know an "all-mountain" is a bike of compromise, but I have decided I would rather sacrifice performance on climbs, to increase performance on downhills.

OK so the question I have is Whether or not I should get a:

36 TALAS 160 FIT RLC

OR

36 VAN 160 FIT RC2

OR

36 FLOAT 160 FIT RLC

OR

36 FLOAT 180 FIT RC2

There is info on their website http://www.foxracingshox.com/bike/11/forks/36_VAN/160_FIT_RC2

I want a fork that will excell more for going downhill, hitting compressions, holes, tracking, etc.

The differences of the forks are:

The Talas is .5 lighter, is air sprung, has travel adjust.