Quantcast

Empires Cast dh frame.. up to date pics!!

DHJUNKIE

Monkey
Sep 27, 2001
Cromwell, CT
hm cast aluminum? i am no engineer in any sense... so many some of you guys can chime in.. but any cast metal i deal w/ i can smash w/ a hammer and it explodes...

giantrider89

Monkey
Oct 16, 2006
P-town, MN
i like it.....its cool to see something that actually is different.....so many bikes are so similar now.......

i dont know much about casting, but there are ways to make it strong......

and damn for selection of cool bikes.....that store rocks!

kona-ryder

Monkey
Jul 18, 2006
Above you on the podium.
Any word on how they make the aluminum strong enough?
Just like Junkie, I'm intrigued as to how that will hold up.
Generally cast-alluminum is very brittle.

Looks like a very nice ride.
For some reason I really like the look of the removable seat-tube on that bike.

wanabe

Monkey
Mar 16, 2007
What is the weight? If you bite it in a rock garden that thing is going to have chunks flying off it. Can anyone say stress riser?

Slater

Monkey
Oct 10, 2007
Regardless of the integrity of the frame or weight that casting is beautiful. Amazing. Sooooo much work goes into the molds for that! I'm digging it.

I'd imagine there are some alloys that are not so brittle when cast. Look at aluminum automotive wheels and blocks. Both take very extreme loads, and take it very well.

buildyourown

Turbo Monkey
Feb 9, 2004
South Seattle
hm cast aluminum? i am no engineer in any sense... so many some of you guys can chime in.. but any cast metal i deal w/ i can smash w/ a hammer and it explodes...
Not all casting is the same. Not all casting alloys are the same. Many highly stressed airplane parts are cast. Not so much anymore because it's almost always cheaper to machine them now. I would wager that 40-50% of the parts on a 737 or a KC-130 are cast.

I'm really curious how they did the swingarm.
Cast and then welded a cover on?

FOXROX

Turbo Monkey
Jun 23, 2007
hambur,nj