Quantcast

Flat Pedals for a clipless geek

norbar

KESSLER PROBLEM. Just cause
Jun 7, 2007
Warsaw :/
Ok. I've been riding clipless pedals all my life from xc to dh (12 years now) and last year I've build up a dj bike with flats. It made me realise I can be much more agressive If I know I'm not clipped in so now I'm looking for flat pedals any my main concern is good grip because the ones on my dirtbike are average. A thin and wide platform is nice, weight is not a big concern as they will anyway be lighter than my clipless pedals. Price up to 100$ (I'm not going to spend more untill I feel 100% confident about the switch).

My options so far are:
Superstar CNC Nano flats (basicaly the same as Kona and Diety)
http://superstar.tibolts.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=42&products_id=127
Superstar CNC Nano thru
http://superstar.tibolts.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=42&products_id=194
HT An02SS

What other options I have and which one of the 3? I have little knowledge about flats. Only thing I know is I'll be rocking the 5.10s

zdubyadubya

Turbo Monkey
Apr 13, 2008
Ellicott City, MD
Look into straitline. I have em and love em.

In a flat pedal, the new "things to look for" are low profile, pin length, removable pins?, and serviceable bearings.

edit: and i know you dont want to spend more than $100, but i can guarantee you will be confident with your switch on these guys. otherwise, on your list go with the ones that are like decoys/konas. very trusted, well proven and reliable

norbar

Jun 7, 2007
Look into straitline. I have em and love em.

In a flat pedal, the new "things to look for" are low profile, pin length, removable pins?, and serviceable bearings.

They don't fit the <100$ part. I've read what too look for but I'm still not sure.

greengreer

Monkey
Apr 27, 2008
NC
If you've got 5.10's then you are set on just about anything for grip, I've had to take pins out of certain pedals so I could reposition my foot better.