Quantcast

flush headset

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by ?????, May 4, 2008.

1. ?????

????? Turbo Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    1 / 2
    #1 -   May 4, 2008

Please register to disable this ad.

2. MtnbikeMike

MtnbikeMike Turbo Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    My Cane Creek works just dandily. I have no experience with the FSA, however, so I can't compare.

#2 -   May 4, 2008
  3. fellow pinner

fellow pinner Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    I have the double xc and it works flawless.

#3 -   May 4, 2008
  4. RD3

RD3 Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    1 / 11
    I would just get e13 cups and FSA bearings. Light and works like a charm.

#4 -   May 4, 2008
  5. poonstar

poonstar Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    i have a the e13 reducer cups with a fsa internal and it works well...however my tech friend at the shop says the canecreek one is better...so i am going to try that on my second build.

#5 -   May 4, 2008
  6. davep

davep Turbo Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Not sure it is still the case (there was some kind of fall-out between the two), but in the past FSA made most of the headset components for Cane Creek...most importantly the bearings...FSA used to have their OEM headset catalog on their site, and there were seveal CC headsets shown. So to say that one is better than the other is kind of funny. I did at one point have a cc reducer headset that used a gigantic serving platter sized crown race to adapt the 1 1/8" steer tube to the 1.5 bearing...it weighed a ton and liked to bend.

Look closely, the bearings will say THindustries...that IS FSA.

To the OP, my personal choice is the e-13 cups with IS bearings. You can go fancy and get the stainless bearings and aluminum crown race, or spend less $$ and get the steel bearings and crown race. Total stack height without the non-functional dust cap is 6.5mm...

#6 -   May 4, 2008
  7. ?????

????? Turbo Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    1 / 2