Quantcast

Fork issue

Squeak

Get your pork here.
Sep 26, 2001
COlo style
Ok, today I noticed that I have a piece of rubber like substance pokeing out of the top of the fork. I am no mechanic, and my fork manual is still packed somewhere. Is this a dust seal or an oil seal? I don't think the oil has left the fork leg. It is a Z2 Atom Race fork...

Attachments

Toshi

Harbinger of Doom
Oct 23, 2001
I was thinking that he was asking about the piece on the right, behind the arch...

BikeGeek

BrewMonkey
Jul 2, 2001
Hershey, PA
Originally posted by Squeak
Yes it is the piece right. It is almost like a piece of rubberband...
I'm not sure what that is. I checked the manual and it's not much help. You better get it in to your LBS.

Squeak

Get your pork here.
Sep 26, 2001
COlo style
Originally posted by BikeGeek

I'm not sure what that is. I checked the manual and it's not much help. You better get it in to your LBS.
Doh! This fork only has like 5 or 6 rides on it :( :(

I also found the manual and there was no exploded parts view. I think I will check their web site.

KrusteeButt

I can't believe its not butter!
Jul 3, 2001
why the hell do YOU care?!
It's so hard to tell with such a crappy-ass picture...maybe you should get your camera checked out too! (heheheh...:devil: )

Do you see any oil coming out at the seal?
Just FYI, Marzocchi USA was great about servicing my fork. Took about 2 weeks, but that included shipping time. Only cost $15 for a new bushing and a rebuild...which includes a 1 yr. warrantee.

Squeak

Get your pork here.
Sep 26, 2001
COlo style
Originally posted by KrusteeButt
It's so hard to tell with such a crappy-ass picture...maybe you should get your camera checked out too! (heheheh...:devil: )

Do you see any oil coming out at the seal?
Just FYI, Marzocchi USA was great about servicing my fork. Took about 2 weeks, but that included shipping time. Only cost $15 for a new bushing and a rebuild...which includes a 1 yr. warrantee.