Quantcast

Good starter bike?? (not noob tho)

tmtrebor

Chimp
Jun 24, 2008
Hey whatsup, this is my first post on this board and I have a pretty scrubbish question. I'm pretty new to the downhill scene, actually VERY new as I just had my first two experiences the past week, and was looking to get a new bike.
I have a question first though, I was wondering what the biggest difference between the downhill and freeride bikes was.

As I said, I'm pretty new to this area. I was looking mainly at two different brands, and more if you have better suggestions, Kona and Transition. Transition because my buddy told me they were good, and Kona because they are at the same store and I'm lazy. My price range is about 1700-2000, or less if possible ;). The guy at the store recommended the Kona Stinky, but I also noticed the Coilair. Since they look pretty similar, what are the biggest differences between the two?

I live in louisville, ky and there's not much to ride on here, but my buddy wants to go out to snowshoe and says I need a better bike. If you could help me out I'd appreciate it. Sorry I'm soundin like a scrub ;)

norbar

KESSLER PROBLEM. Just cause
Jun 7, 2007
Warsaw :/
Insead of a stinky - which in my opinon is simply crap you could try this:
http://www.rscycle.com/s.nl;jsessionid=0a01074d1f43d1180c39a3f84b3cbe15ea0c5398c545.e3eTaxaQbxmTe34Pa38Ta38Lbhj0?it=A&id=25506&sc=7&category=4959

It's a good base to start and you can build up with better parts.

Specialized Big hit would be a nice idea but I don't know the price.
Transition is a good choice but I doubt you will find one new for under 2000$ anywhere.

As for Downhill and Freeride bikes you just google it ;) It's everywhere. In short - FR bikes is shorter, has less travel, is lighter and has a steeper head angle (that's the basics) than a DH bike. It's also usualy cheaper ;)

ZHendo

Turbo Monkey
Oct 29, 2006
PNW