Quantcast

Headset Removal & Installation (again)

Old_Dude

Monkey
Hello - no, I'm not going to go back and dig up all the threads and spend an hour reading through all the information.

My questions are few and rather simple - please continue.

Point #1 - I have some good, mechanical experience - replaced the head on my Honda, replaced all components on my bike (except headset).

Point #2 - I have a fear of ruining my frame - not only when I remove the current headset, but also when I install the new one - given my past experience wrenching on cars & bikes, is this justified - is it that difficult to properly remove & reinstall a new headset?

Fact #3 - Tools - I am confident I can make a decent home-made headset press (see Tonninator's photo below), but can I make a good, usable tool to remove the current headset? If so, how?

Thanks very much,

OD

Repack

Turbo Monkey
Nov 29, 2001
Boston Area
Headset swaps are over rated. I've used drift pins to get old cups out and a vise w/ a couple of 1/4" pieces of plywood to keep the cups from getting scratched to get a hs in (I have done hundreds the "correct" way so I do know what I am doing).
When you remove it, just tap your way around the cup with a drift pin. Or you could maybe get a piece of pipe, make 4 cuts in it and flair it.

Weather you are installing or removing, the main thing you need to be careful of is keeping the cups straight. Both are fairly slow processes, and if things go crooked, a little side pressure will line them back up.

The pic of the home made press is nice. I like using thin pieces of wood to actually press against the cups (1/4x2x2" plywood pieces). The cup press into the wood a little so nothing slips.

Old_Dude

Monkey
Okay - I'm gonna go for it!!!

Will I still have to go by the bike shop and get a star nut and some spacers?

I guess there's no way to successfully remove the old star nut? I think I'm okay on spacers.