Quantcast

I hope Karma is real.

mattmatt86

Turbo Monkey
Feb 9, 2005
Bleedmore, Murderland
So I had just finished tuning up a bike and I was taking it out for a test ride in the shop's parking lot. Whilst coming back in I noticed a wallet laying on the ground, I threw it in my apron and went back to the shop area. I opened up the wallet and what do I find; License, various credit cards, a season pass to six flags, and $387 in cash! As a poor college student my eyes immediately lit up with the thoughts of all the booze, lap dances, and Easy Mac that could buy me. Then the little angel on my left shoulder tells me to do the right thing and try to find the owner.:crazy: I look his name up in the customer database and find his number and give him a call. He was also a student here at Clemson and was ecstatic that I found his wallet. I didn't get any reward nor did I get any sort of warm and fuzzy feeling inside. I just hope what goes around comes around. :bonk:

Austin Bike

Turbo Monkey
Jan 26, 2003
Duh, Austin
I lost my wallet on a trail once (yeah, fo some stupid reason I put it in the camelback...)

About 2 months later a guy I know found it. All the credit cards had been replaced and the DL, so the cash was all that mattered. Even the wallet was waterlogged and worthless.

I gave him all the cash (it was ~$40). Even though he didn't want it I told him to take it and buy beer for everyone after the next ride.

What I did get out of it was a nice duplicate DL that I keep in my camelback now.

You have to reward people that do good because so many people would not. It's real easy to say "I found the wallet but there was no cash in it."

valve bouncer

Master Dildoist
Feb 11, 2002
Japan
If I find your bike, may I have the brakes as a reward?

10% might be usual, but politely turning down the offer would be the right thing to do. There should not be a fee for service for returning somebody's property.